Onslow County Schools Have COVID-19 Clusters In 8 Schools

Sep 15, 2021

The Onslow County Health Department has told Onslow County Schools and that clusters of COVID-19 cases have been identified at eight district schools, according to a news release.

Credit Onslow County Schools

The NC Department of Health and Human Services defines a cluster as a minimum of 5 cases with symptom onset or initial positive test results within a 14-day period and a probable common linkage between cases. The report includes Sand Ridge Elementary, Swansboro Elementary, Stateside Elementary, Hunters Creek Middle, Swansboro Middle, Trexler Middle, Richlands High, and Southwest High. The release said these cases were identified before the start of school. As cases were reported to the schools, anyone identified as a close contact was notified of any potential exposure and excluded from school following NCDHHS guidelines.