Wave header image graphic banner
Public Radio For Eastern North Carolina 89.3 WTEB New Bern 88.5 WZNB New Bern 91.5 WBJD Atlantic Beach 90.3 WKNS Kinston 88.1 W201AO Greenville 88.5 WHYC Swan Quarter
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations

House OKs Raising Minimum Age For NC Juvenile Court To 8

117048243_7cc6bb0b87_b.jpg
"Courtroom One Gavel" by Joe Gratz is marked with CC0 1.0
/

The minimum age in which a child could be prosecuted in North Carolina’s juvenile courts would rise from 6 to 8 in legislation approved by the House. The proposal would remove North Carolina as the state with the lowest age for juvenile adjudication set by law. There had been attempts this year to raise the minimum age to 10. But several lawmakers were concerned 8- or 9-year-olds accused of the most serious felonies could only receive counseling for their crimes. An advisory panel recommended the 10-year-old minimum. The threshold is in a broader juvenile justice bill that received overwhelming support and now returns to the Senate.