Which States Are Reopening? A State-By-State Guide

Mar 12, 2020
Originally published on May 12, 2020 4:59 pm

Every U.S. state has implemented restrictions designed to limit the spread of COVID-19. Businesses reduced or ceased operations, people transitioned into working and learning remotely, and nonessential activities were paused. At least temporarily, much of the country was under strict orders to stay home.

State officials are now charting paths to a new normal, seeking a balance between reopening economies and protecting public health. Many governors are outlining new frameworks and timelines for their states as they ramp up testing and contact tracing efforts. Some have also formed regional partnerships to coordinate economic recovery. Most are releasing general and industry-specific reopening guidelines for businesses and individuals.

President Trump's federal guidelines for social distancing and mitigation expired on May 1. Many states are modifying stay-at-home orders, prolonging school closures or delaying elections until after that date. Many are also lifting certain restrictions as they embark on phased-in recovery plans. And while more than half of states have partially reopened, public health experts say that some are doing so too quickly, as they warn of a second wave of infections. At a May 12 Senate hearing, Dr. Anthony Fauci, the U.S.'s top infectious disease expert, expressed concern about some states and localities skipping federal guidelines to open prematurely.

Governors have created their own data dashboards and task forces to guide their planning, and provide regular progress updates. Conditions and predictions differ across states, though there is broad consensus that reopening will not happen overnight.

Each day brings changes. NPR is tracking developments in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia so you can see what's changed and how states compare.

Here's what each one has done so far, by region:

Northeast: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont

Midwest: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin

South: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia

West: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

The first version of this page was originally published on March 12. This is a developing story. We will continue to update as new information becomes available.

NPR's Brakkton Booker, Merrit Kennedy, Vanessa Romo, Colin Dwyer, Laurel Wamsley, Aubri Juhasz and Bobby Allyn contributed to this report.

Correction: 4/09/20

A previous version of this story said Missouri's governor issued a statewide stay-at-home order effective April 24. In fact, the order is effective until April 24.

Copyright 2020 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.