SBA grants Governor's Disaster Declaration request

Oct 16, 2019

RALEIGH – The Governor’s Office reports that the U-S Small Business Administration has granted Gov. Roy Cooper’s request for a disaster declaration for counties that suffered damage from Hurricane Dorian. The declaration will allow affected residents to apply for low interest SBA disaster loans. The Governor made the request after FEMA denied individual assistance for those affected by Dorian. The SBA request was described as the first step in in establishing a state relief program following FEMA’s denial.

The request covers the four counties the Governor had sought FEMA individual assistance for... Carteret, Dare, Hyde and New Hanover... as well as the contiguous counties of Beaufort, Brunswick, Craven, Currituck, Jones, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Tyrrell and Washington

Carteret Countyhas already announced a site for a Disaster Loan Outreach Center. It will be located at the Board of Elections office on Live Oak Street in Beaufort. The center will open this Friday morning (October 18) at 11:00 am. Applications are also being taken online at the SBA's secure website