NC Sports Hall of Fame inductees announced

Jan 12, 2016

Nine new members of the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame have been announced. George Olsen has more.

Two former NBA stars are part of the 53rd Sports Hall of Fame class… Eric “Sleepy” Floyd and Antawn Jamison. Floyd is a Gastonia native who perhaps is best known for an NBA playoff record 12 consecutive field goals made while appearing in the 1987 post-season with the Golden State Warriors. Jamison was national player of the year with the UNC Tarheels in 1998 and went on to play 16 seasons in the NBA.  Others to be inducted include Rod Brind’Amour, captain of the 2006 Stanley Cup champion Carolina Hurricanes, David Fox who swam for N-C State and won a gold medal as part of the U-S Swim Team at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, and the late Ray Price who was prominent in motorcycle drag racing for over 50 years. The induction ceremony will take place May 6 at the Raleigh Convention Center. I’m George Olsen.

Other inductees -- James "Rabbit" Fulghum, Haywood Jeffires, Freddy Johnson, Susan Yow