Public Radio For Eastern North Carolina 89.3 WTEB New Bern 88.5 WZNB New Bern 91.5 WBJD Atlantic Beach 90.3 WKNS Kinston 88.1 W201AO Greenville 88.5 WHYC Swan Quarter
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

52nd Inductee class for N-C Sports Hall of Fame announced

INTRO – The North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame has announced their 2015 list of inductees. George Olsen has more.

Ten new members to the Sports Hall of Fame will be formally enshrined during a May ceremony in Raleigh. The inductees include brothers Jeff Bostic and Joe Bostic. The brothers played high school football in Greensboro and college ball at Clemson. Jeff  then played 14 seasons in the NFL in Washington while Joe played 10 years all with the Cardinals’ franchise in St. Louis and then in Arizona. Rick Hendrick is also part of the 52nd class of inductees. Hendrick Motorsports is one of the most successful motor sports companies in the world with its drivers having won at least one Sprint Cup race each season since 1986. The other inductees include basketball official John Clougherty and N-C State women’s basketball all-time leading scorer Andrea Stinson.  I’m George Olsen.

George Olsen is a 1977 Havelock High School graduate. He received his B.A. in Broadcast Journalism from the University of South Carolina in 1982 where he got his first taste of non-commercial radio working for their student station WUSC. After graduation he worked about five years in commercial radio before coming to work at Public Radio East where he has remained since outside of a nearly 3-year stint as jazz and operations coordinator at WUAL in Tuscaloosa, Alabama in the early 1990s. On his return to eastern North Carolina he hosted classical music for Public Radio East before moving into the Morning Edition host position and now can be heard on All Things Considered. He also hosts and produces The Sound, five hours of Americana, Roots Rock and Contemporary Folk weekday evenings on PRE Public Radio East News & Ideas, and is a news and feature producer for Public Radio East.